Nations Cup

The Nations Cup is an informal team element of the WSF World Masters Championship

The Nations Cup will consist of two divisions

1. Division I: For teams entering 10 or more players in the World Masters Championships.

2. Division II” For teams entering 9 or fewer players in the World Masters Championships.

The aim of the competition is to generate team spirit among each countries’ players. The tournament committee also hopes that the Nations Cup will provide all players, not just the medal winners, opportunity to play a part for their country. Any player who reaches the round of the last 16 or better, or who wins a plate competition, will be eligible to earn points for his or her team. This is a much broader-based measure than a simple medals table.

The WSF Masters Commission intends that this competition will become an essential element of all World Masters Competitions.

Further, the WSF Masters Commission hopes that all countries will encourage as many of their players as possible to enter and thereby increase their national team’s chances of success in the Nations Cup

Each country will appoint a team “Nations Cup Captain”

Names of Nations Cup Captains, once confirmed, will be posted on the tournament website under the Nation’s Cup tab.


Division I (countries with 10+ entrants in the event): The top-25 scoring players from each country will contribute to their nation’s points total. In order to be eligible as a “scoring player” a player must have played in and won at least one match in the tournament. Furthermore, they must have reached a scoring level in the event as described in the points table below.

Division II (countries with 9 or fewer entrants in the event): All players will contribute to their nation’s points total provided they have won at least one match in the tournament and they earn a finishing position as described in the points table below.

Points Table

Points for finishing positions will be allotted as follows:

Finishing Position Points Allotted Draw Type
Gold Medal Winner 20 Points Main Draw
Silver Medal Winner 18 Points Main Draw
Bronze Medal Winner 16 Points Main Draw
4th Place Finish 14 Points Main Draw
5th-8th Place Finish 12 Points Main Draw
9th-16th Place Finish 10 Points Main Draw
Classic Plate Winner 8 Points Classic Plate
Plate Winner 6 Points Plate
Consolation Plate Winner 4 Points Consolation Plate

Points for the round of 16 will only apply to events with 32 or more entries.

Players must win one match to become a ‘counter’ in their team. Byes do not count as wins. Walk overs, withdraws, and retires do.

A player may not gain points from both the main draw and consolation events. In the event that a player earns points in both draws, the higher point total will count.

The Nation with the highest total tally of points will be declared winner of its respective draw.

A wall chart showing the round-by-round points earned by each country will be displayed at the main playing venues and on the tournament website.

In the Event of a Tie

In the event that two nations are tied, points will be awarded from the round of 32. Winners from the round of 32 will score 9 points. This will only occur in the event of a tie. Points will only be awarded if a player has won a match.

If no round of 32 players have won matches, Classic Plate Finalists will be scored at 7 points, Plate Finalists at 5 points and Consolation Plate Finalists at 3 points.


The trophies, which were generously presented by the organizing committee of the 2016 World Masters in Johannesburg, are perpetual trophies and will record the name of the winning country at each World Masters Championships. The trophy will be presented at the Closing Ceremony Event.